Former Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb elected to Rajya Sabha

Former Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb on Thursday was elected to the Rajya Sabha defeating the CPI-M candidate and former Minister Bhanulal Saha by 28 votes.

Deb got 43 (BJP’s 36 and IPFT’s 7) votes while Saha got 15 votes while Congress’ lone MLA abstained from voting.

BJP’s ally Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) MLA Brishaketu Debbarma did not cast his vote for he resigned from the Assembly in June last year and joined the TIPRA (Tipraha Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance).

Deb tweeted: “Gratitude to the BJP and IPFT MLAs of Tripura for electing me as a Rajya Sabha MP. Gratitude to PM Sri Narendra Modi Ji, BJP President Sri J.P. Nadda ji, HM Sri Amit Shah ji for giving me this opportunity to represent Tripura in Rajya Sabha.”

On May 15 this year Manik Saha became chief minister replacing Deb in a sudden political development.